A photo showing the entrance to Hobart Elementary

John S. Hobart Elementary School

At John S. Hobart Elementary School, we are committed to providing our students with an educational experience that addresses both their social and academic development. We believe in holding our students to high expectations. Our curriculum, programs and support services reinforce our belief that all children can reach the high standards that we set for them.
The cooperative efforts of our staff, parents, teachers and administrators will ensure optimal support for each child, creating successful students and responsible citizens. We are looking forward to a successful and memorable school year.

Hobart administrators stand in hallway of school

Left to right: John S. Hobart Elementary School Principal James Westcott and Assistant Principal Thomas Virgona.

John S. Hobart Elementary School
230 Van Buren Street
Shirley NY, 11967
Grades K-5 (9:15am - 3:33pm)

Hobart Elementary Principal
James Westcott (631) 874-1273

Hobart Elementary Assistant Principal
Thomas Virgona (631) 874-1525

Hobart Elementary Office Numbers
Main Office – (631) 874-1296
Attendance – (631) 874-1708
School Nurse – (631) 874-1248
Psychologist – (631) 874-1243
Hobart Library – (631) 874-1569

Tory Badamo (631) 874-1513

Joshua Zelin (631) 874-1243

Social Workers
Katrina Reilly (631) 874-1230 
Elena Cahn (631) 874-1511

DASA Coordinator
James Westcott (631) 874-1273
Thomas Virgona (631) 874-1525
Joshua Zelin (631) 874-1243

Call/Text 988: A New Crisis Resource

Hobart News

college fair and career expo thumbnail - April 11, 2024

The William Floyd Counseling Center is hosting its annual "College Fair & Career Expo" on Thursday, April 11 from 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm in the high school gymnasium. This event is open to all families in the district, K-12, as it is never too early to start planning for the future! 

summer enrichment thumbnail cover

The William Floyd School District has once again partnered with SCOPE Enrichment Services to offer FREE summer enrichment for elementary school students of the William Floyd School District Mondays through Fridays this summer (July 15 - August 9)! Turn it into a full day of fun and learning with the morning Elementary Summer School program!